top of page
  • divinelyinspiredli1

Cough Syrup Communion by Lillian Fuglei

Content Warning: Cough Syrup Communion has slight elements of body horror, and Worship has some self harm imagery.


My jacket sleeves drip, cough syrup

staining the previous beige. A sticky red sinks

slowly past my skin, seeping eventually

to the bone rot, I pray

it will cure.


Take 30 mg, every six to eight hours

as needed. I recite the labels instructions

in time with the Lord’s Prayer, each dose twists

expanding my lungs past their popping point.

Scraps of bronchi litter the carpet, laid out

like remnants of last night's party.


Cherry tints my tongue

like blood, the saccharin sweetness

welcomed by my mouth.

She can taste little else by now.


The dosage cup is left

on the counter, a discarded

communion. I cannot tell

if this body and blood will be my last,

the final devotional

to push me to salvation.


Lillian Fuglei (she/they) is a lesbian poetess based in Denver, Colorado. She began writing poetry in High School, after a lifetime of attending open mics thanks to their mother. They bounce between poetry, journalism, and academia, hoping to find a home for her writing somewhere in between the three. You can find them on Instagram at literary.lillian.




27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Three Poems by M. Å poljar

Content Warning: suicide ideation, discussion of homophobia, and references to sexual abuse summer of 2014 i sink to my knees by the abandoned hotel another memory i wish i wasn’t myself in; i want to

Poetry by Dorian Firestone

Trigger warning: mention of the ex-gay Christian movement. My Wife Oh how I revel in the word. Wife Feel it's full, divine sapphic glory. And what a woman. She’s a standard she/they with a special kin

bottom of page